ten more days

On the 28 th of this month the U.S. government will officially consider me retired, as my so-called “early” retirement benefits from Social Security will begin when I turn 62.  At that, it will take till the age of 75 to just get back what I paid in to Social Security.  I am determined to stay healthy enough to enjoy my retirement and spend all of my money that the government was so nice to hold for me these past 46 wage earning years.

At present,  I am the most physically fit of the past 46 years, so I have a start.  Of course no matter how hard I may try, age will overcome my best efforts at staying in top shape.  None the less, I need a plan to motivate me and I need to read and follow my plan regularly and try to make healthy habits.

I will be running the Boston Marathon on April 19th, so now would be the time to really get serious about a number of health items.  A daily log of how I fueled my body and results, miles run, cross training, strength training, hours of sleep,  injuries, healing, mental and spiritual heath as well are all necessary to get my old body ready for the fun years ahead.  This would mean that I consider running 26.2 miles of the Boston Marathon  fun.

I only ran 7 miles tonight.  I have a couple minor aches and pains that I need to fix.  One way to help the body heal is to get extra sleep.  This has always been one of my weak areas, as I have always loved to stay up to the wee hours.  Starting tonight, I am officially putting those late nights behind me.  I am going to get a minimum of 8 hours of continuous sleep at night every night from here on.  Of course there will be exceptions for special events.  I will log my sleep times for the next three months, so that I can convince myself of the benefits making this a new habit.

Since it is 10:20pm now, I had better head for bed so I can get my minimum of 8 hours continuous tonight.  With the hard running and training I am doing, short afternoon naps will be additionally needed rest to help heal damaged tissue.

Good Night   .ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZzzzzzzZZZzzzzzzzzzz

About Sumcensuvitt

Training for the Boston Marathon 2014 View all posts by Sumcensuvitt

Leave a Reply

